Product detail

Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun

Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun

Author: Gretchen Rubin
$27.00(NZD)  inc GST
Description

"This book made me happy in the first five pages." -AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is "a cross between the Dalai Lama's The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love." (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person's year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

Reviews

"Packed with fascinating facts about the science of happiness and rich examples of how she improves her life through changes small and big The Happiness Project made me happier by just reading it." - Amy Scribner, Bookpage

Author description

Gretchen Rubin is the author of several books, including the bestselling Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill and Forty Ways to Look at JFK. Her daily blog, www.happiness-project.com, ranks in the prestigious Technorati "Top 5K" and appears on Slate and the Huffington Post. Rubin started her career as a lawyer, and she was clerking for Justice Sandra Day O'Connor when she realised she really wanted to be a writer. She lives in New York City with her husband and two young daughters.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780061583261
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • : February 2011
  • : 203mm X 135mm X 20mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 912
  • : English
  • : 158
  • : very good
  • : bl2011005827
  • : 320
  • : illustrations
  • : Gretchen Rubin
  • : Paperback